The Kenya Horticultural Society was established in 1923 and was set up by a group of people interested in plants and gardens.

Its objectives are to create, stimulate and increase interest in horticulture, garden and plants in Kenya.

What We Do

The Districts arrange several activities for their members.

These include:

  • A variety of courses for Members and their gardeners
  • Flower shows
  • Plant sales
  • Visits to places of horticultural interest
  • Visits to gardens
  • Lectures / slides shows
  • Speakers and demonstrations at meetings.
  • Regular Newsletters
  • The society has available at special prices for its members cards, calendars, gardening books and various items of use for the garden.

At the Nairobi office there is a significant library of horticultural reference books.

My name is Desmond Maganga. I am the assistant administrator of the Kenya Horticultural Society. I have studied Horticulture with I.T. at Maseno University in Kisumu County, Kenya. It is a great honor to be part of the Kenya Horticultural Society. My vision is to promote horticulture, through the Society, by recruiting new members and working with the current members in achieving the Society’s goals.

Council Members 2017/18

Chairman Mr Vishy Talwar
Vice-chairman Mrs Sally Shaw
Hon. Secretary Mrs Susan Church
Hon. Treasurer Mrs Gail Paul
Immediate Past Chairman Mr Peter Paterson
Council Member Mrs Sue Deverell
Council Member Mr Pravin Bowry
Council Member Ms Anastasia Mwendwa
Council Member Mrs Darshna Patel
Nairobi Mrs Sally Davey
North Coast District Marion Lady Langham
Mombasa Mrs Cecilia Abwao
South Coast District
(dormant at present)
Mrs Anne Vaughan
Mt Kenya District Mrs Ann McConnell
Naivasha/Gilgil District Mrs Frankie Dykes
Nakuru District Mrs Nutan Patel
Rift Valley (Egerton) Dr Mariam Mwangi
Thika District Mrs Lucy Guebels